The temple is located in Palani, TamilNadu.
Legend has it that Idumban, a disciple of Sage Agasthayar, while carrying two hillocks by the name Sivagiri and Sakthigiri, on his shoulders as Kavadi, wanted to rest for a while and placed these hillocks on the ground. Lord Muruga, mischievously immobilized these hillocks and Idumban could carry the Kavadi no further.
This temple is the third abode of Lord Muruga’s six abodes. This temple is an ancient one which is situated at an altitude of 1500m above sea level in Palani. Tiru Avinankudi Temple is also called as the Kulanthai Velayuthaswamy Temple, which is because the deity here sits on the peacock as a child (Kulandhai – child). The icon is unique in the whole world. It was made by siddha Bhogar by combining nine poisonous substances (navabashana). Murugan signifies beauty and Lord Murugan of Kurinji land is the god of Beauty and Youth.
The temple of Tiru Avinankudi was renovated by K. P. S. Palaniappa Chettiar of Kandanur and N. M. Subramanian Chettiar of Karaikudi, between 1898 and 1910.
Palani is very famous for the Murugan temple. To the most of the people, the name Palani itself refers to the Murugan Kovil. People from all over the world fly to this temple to have the darshan of the deity. The devotees bring different types of Kavadis and offerings to the Lord by Padha Yatra (Foot Pilgrimate) mostly during Thai Poosam.